Pulses are the major source of vegetable protein. During 2015-16, pulse crops were grown on 1153.5 thousand ha and their production was 528.4 thousand tones. Punjab contributed more than 80% to area and 75% to production of pulses. There are two major pulses production zones in Pakistan. A zone comprising districts of Bhakkar, Khushab, Layyah, Mianwali and Jhang, known as “Thall”, is producing more than 90% chickpea and 80% mung. The other zone comprising Sialkot, Narowal, Chakwal and Rawalpindi districts is producing more than 90% Lentil and Mash. Research on pulse crops was started during 1938 in Cereal section. During 1970-71, independent pulses research section was established which was upgraded to Pulses Research Institute, Faisalabad during 1982. Pulses Research Institute has three sub-stations; at Kallurkot (Bhakkar), Rakhuttra (Khushab) and Sahowali (Sialkot). Since its inception Institute has developed 21 varieties of pulses covering 90% area of Punjab and 80% of Pakistan. The institute is internationally recognized as premier institute of Pulses Research in Pakistan.

Mission & Objectives

Development of new cultivars of major pulses crops having:
  • High yield potential
  • Resistance/tolerance to biotic stresses and abiotic  stresses
  • Response to high inputs
  • Earliness in maturity
  • Better quality
  • Establishment of package of production technology to realize full potential
  • Promotion of pulses production