The defunct state of Bahawalpur established an Agriculture Research Station at Khanpur in 1952 for improvement of the crops grown in this region to bring prosperity in the territory. In 1961, besides wheat the sub-stations of Agronomy, Plant Protection, Cotton and Agricultural Chemistry were also established. During 1969 the Agricultural Research Station was shifted to Bahawalpur and its status was raised to Regional Agricultural Research Institute during 1987. Presently, the institute is comprised of three major divisions viz. Crop Breeding, Agricultural Chemistry and Plant Protection. The sole aim of the Institute is to undertake research and development efforts on evolution of better varieties of various crops i.e. wheat, pulses, oilseeds, sorghum, millets and crop production and protection technologies. The institute has played a pivotal role in developing the awareness of farming community of the region through evolution of high yielding, better fertilizer responsive, pest and disease resistant varieties of various crops alongwith recent production and protection technologies.

 Mission& Objectives

  • Evolution of new varieties of wheat, pulses, oilseed, sorghum and millet crops possessing high yield, heat, salt and moisture stress tolerance, disease and pest resistance and ecologically well suited for Bahawalpur region
  • To determine more efficient production and protection technologies for newly developed crop varieties
  • Screening of new genotypes of different crops against heat salinity and their respective pest and diseases
  • Investigations on the cause and control of newly emerged pests and disease problems and other disorders in the region